Nominations Due September 23rd

September 7, 2011

Dear USHJA Members,
The USEF has put out the call for nominations for the 2011 Pegasus Awards and the USHJA is asking for you, our members, assistance in recognizing individuals to be put forward as our nominees. A short description of each award can be found below. Please submit any admirable individual(s) you feel worthy of being the USHJA nominee for any or all of these 11 awards. The USHJA will select our nominees for each award from the pool submitted by our membership.

Richard E. McDevitt Award of Merit - This award is given posthumously for meritorious service to equestrian sport. Recipients of the USEF Pegasus Medal of Honor and the Jimmy A. Williams Lifetime Achievement Award are ineligible for this award.

Walter B. Devereux Sportsmanship Award - Awarded to the horseman or horsewoman who "exemplifies the ideal of good sportsmanship through commitment, dedication and service to USEF throughout his or her career."

The Marty Simensen Award - This award is presented to an individual(s) who has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to the protection and welfare of horses over a period of many years and/or have saved equines through an act of courage and resolve during a crisis situation.

The EQUUS Foundation Humanitarian Award - The recipient of this award will be someone who has devoted considerable personal time to make the lives and quality of life of our equine partners paramount; from improving the health and welfare of the horse to promoting and expanding the general public’s appreciation and respect of the diverse role of horses not just in equestrian sports but also as aides to the general public.

The Ellen Scripps Davis Memorial Breeders' Cup - This award recognizes an individual who consistently breeds outstanding show horses. The award honors the role that unique breeding enterprises have in the development and improvement of show horses.

Junior Equestrian of the Year - Awarded to a junior member of the USEF in good standing who: has competed at one or more USEF-recognized competitions during the last year; personifies the virtues of honor, courage, patience, good temper, unselfishness, and sincerity; exhibits the qualities of good sportsmanship and integrity; exemplifies exceptional talent and dedication to the sport; and has made outstanding contributions to equestrian competition.

Equestrians of Honor - the winners of these awards will join the finalist for the 2011 Equestrian of the Year. Please nominate the individuals you feel have performed the greatest in 2011 in each of the three categories below:

  • William C. Steinkraus Trophy - Awarded for showing any horse or pony breed in international jumping competitions.

  • Emerson Burr Trophy - Awarded for showing any horse of pony breed in hunter classes.

  • Norman K. Dunn Trophy - Awarded for showing any horse or pony breed in-hand.

  • Horses of Honor - the winners of these awards will join the other finalist for the 2011 Horse of the Year.

  • Hunter Horse of Year - the nominated horse must be at least 5-years-old and must have must have excelled in hunter competition.

  • Jumper Horse of the Year - the nominated horse must be at least 5-years-old and must have won an FEI rated four-star competition.

All active USHJA members are encouraged to nominate for these prominent awards. Written nominations must include: award title; the nominee's name; the city and state of residence; supporting accomplishments and accolades; and any other information pertinent to their involvement in the horse industry. Please note that only the Richard E. McDevitt award is given posthumously. Nominations must be received in the USHJA office by September 23, 2011. Please submit nominations to Kristyn Kay or mail them to 3870 Cigar Lane, Lexington, KY 40511. Questions concerning these awards may be directed to Kristyn Kay.
To see the full criteria and past winners for each award, please visit the USEF website.

Back to Archived News